JHSC Part Two: Workplace Specific Hazard Training

Part Two, Workplace Specific Hazards training, focuses on the recognition, assessment, control of hazards, and evaluation of hazard controls. Participants are to select at least six hazards relevant to their workplace and will learn how to handle each one. The employer will conduct a workplace hazard assessment to select the most appropriate hazards for their JHSC members to base their training on. The participant will also practice developing action plans and recommendations to ensure a safer workplace. Employers are encouraged to conduct their hazard assessment with the collaboration of their JHSC members.

Part Two Workplace Specific Hazard Outline (Minimum 2 Days):

  • Part one review: R.A.C.E.
  • Chlorine gas
  • Client Care Safe Handling
  • Confined spaces education
  • Driving hazards
  • Emergency preparedness procedures
  • Ergonomics principles
  • Extreme temperature
  • Combustibles and flammables
  • Slips, trips and falls
  • Indoor air quality
  • Infection control procedures
  • Lockout tagout
  • Machine and equipment hazards
  • Material handling
  • Noise hazards
  • Pedestrian awareness guidelines
  • Personal protective equipment
  • Traffic control
  • Trenching
  • Harassment and violence in the workplace
  • Electrical hazards and dangers

Notice anything missing from this list? Please contact us and let us know. Please note: depending on your workplace sector, and how many modules you require, your training may take more than two days to complete. For example, if your company is under the construction sector, you require a minimum of 3 days.

What if I miss the 12-month deadline?

After completing Part One, learners now have up to 12 months to complete Part Two. Learners who do not complete Part Two within 12 months are not allowed to take Refresher training. They will need to take Part One again.

Learners who completed Part One with the 6 months before May 1, 2020, now have an additional 6 months to complete Part Two.

What if I was certified with old standards?

Participants don’t have to take the refresher program every 3 years if they took both Part One and Part Two under the old standards.

If someone completes Part One under the old standard, they do not have to take Part 2 within 12 months. Part One doesn’t expire, so they can take Part 2 at any time.

However, after taking Part Two under the new standards, participants will be in the new process where they must take the JHSC Refresher course every 3 years.

JHSC Refresher Certification:

To stay current on JHSC standards, participants are required to take a 1-day JHSC Refresher training every three years after completing Part One and Part Two certifications.

Book your part two workplace hazards training right now